Resource Centre

All the Tools You Need to Become a Successful Property Owner.


Welcome to Atlantic Canada, and its four provinces - New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and, one of the last provinces to join the confederation of Canada, the province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

When Newfoundland and Labrador officially became part of Canada in 1949, the province was known only as Newfoundland. Labrador was added into the name as late as 2001. Still, many people refer to Newfoundland as the province, and Labrador as an Atlantic-Canadian region.

The Labrador Peninsula

Labrador is a small region. Its most densely populated town is Happy Valley-Goose Bay at 7,572 (in 2006). Other less populated cities in the region include Labrador City, Wabush, and Nain.The Labrador Peninsula, of which the region of Labrador is a part, is surrounded by several bodies of water: Hudson Bay, Hudson Strait, Labrador Sea, and Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve

January 22, 2005 was a momentous day for Labrador. It was on this date that its first National park was born: Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve.

This National park has been key for the survival of Labrador wildlife, like caribou, polar bears and golden eagle. Visitors to the park can enjoy hiking, scrambling and kayaking.

Labrador Trivia

Q.Whom is Labrador named after?
A.Portuguese explorer Joao Fernandes Lavrado, who sailed to the region in 1498.

Comments & Opinions

Posted On

October 20, 2013


Back to Resource Centre